Tyson Nash dot com


Hockey Night Brings NHL Players Back to Ice


David Vest
Apr. 19, 2005
© The Arizona Republic


More than a year has passed since hockey fans have watched NHL players compete on Valley ice.


That drought ends tonight with "Hockey Night in Phoenix," an exhibition game pitting teams composed mostly of locked-out NHL players -- including several current and former Coyotes -- at America West Arena.


Players participating include fan favorites Jeremy Roenick, Sean Burke and Tyson Nash.


"This is a great chance to see some of the best professional hockey stars in the world return to the ice to play the game we love so much," said Phoenix Roadrunners President Claude Lemieux, who plans to play, too.


The revived Roadrunners, who begin play in the ECHL in October, are hosting the game. Other current Coyotes who plan to play: Jason Chimera, Dan Cleary, Boyd Devereaux, Krys Kolanos and Brian Savage.


Todd Bertuzzi, who continues to wait for reinstatement from the NHL following his sucker-punch attack on Steve Moore in 2004, also is on the roster.


The three-period game is set to start at 6:30 p.m. It will feature nets that are 3 inches larger in height and width.

Tickets are $25 and can be purchased online at www.phxroadrunners.com, America West Arena, or by calling (480) 784-4444.


Organizers say a portion of the ticket revenue will go to benefit youth hockey teams throughout the Valley.


If you go


WHAT: Hockey Night in Phoenix.

WHEN: 6:30 p.m.

WHERE: America West Arena.

FORMAT: Two teams of locked-out NHL players playing a three-period exhibition game.




Greg Adams, Jason Arnott, Todd Bertuzzi, Sean Burke, Garrett Burnett, Keith Carney, Jason Chimera, Dan Cleary, J.J. Daigneault, Boyd Devereaux, Chris Dingman, Robert Esche, Travis Green, Darcy Hordichuk, Mike Keane, Krys Kolanos, Claude Lemieux, Jyrki Lumme.


Brad May, Jay McKee, Michael Mole, Steve Montador, Tyson Nash, Mattias Ohlund, Andrew Peters, Jamie Ram, Paul Ranheim, Luc Robitaille, Jeremy Roenick, Cliff Ronning, Brian Savage, Mike Sillinger, Todd Simpson, Brent Sopel, Steve Staios, Darryl Sydor, Dean Tiltgen, Landon Wilson.